What do you want your first child to look like?

What do you want your first child to look like?

Not ugly. Attractive, of course. But not too much so! She needs to be able to stand on her own merits. Just attractive enough to be socially acceptable. Nothing too deformed or retarded, please.

Well that’s all wonderful and reassuring, but awfully vague. And that’s exactly what it’s like when I ask myself what smopf should look like.

Graphic artists have a very a difficult job. I never realized how hard it is to crap out a concrete design from fuzzy notions. As an engineer, I’m used to working to precise specifications. Adobe tools are powerful and easy to use, but it’s impossible to turn the abstract concept of “visually appealing” into something hard and fast.

With no other provisions, I’m just spewing fancy effects all over the place to see what sticks. (I’d say This is probably how my first child will be conceived, but I don’t think it works that way.) I’m still not completely happy with how it looks, but if it were my child, I would keep it. Unlike this thing, which I wanted to drown in a bucket of water.

What do you want your second child to look like?

Now that’s easy. Same as the first, but with just enough differentiation to easily tell them apart.

Once smopf is complete, it will serve as a template for our next top secret project.

Leave a Reply

